K recommends

Its been long overdue – here’s another ‘K recommends’. Today I will give you tips on goth songs that I like.

Siouxsie and the Banshees – Tearing Apart

Starting off with one of the pioneers in goth, Siouxsie Sioux (here with the Banshees), the song Tearing Apart sounds rather uplifting. However the lyrics are, as you can imagine, on a bluer note. As most other 80’s goth bands, Siouxsie and the Banshees uses a soft guitar sound and heartfelt vocals. I really enjoy Siouxsie’s voice and I really think you should give her work a try if you haven’t so already.

The Cure – Pictures of You

I believe most of you are familiar with The Cure. If you aren’t you really should look them up! Pictures of You is not one of the most famous songs such as Friday or Boys Don’t Cry, but for me its a very beautiful and dreamy song. The lyrics as well as the sound really makes you feel a sense of longing, which is amazing to me. Its also nostalgic since I used to listen to this quite a lot during my teenage years.

MALICE MIZER – ヴェル・エール ~空白の瞬間の中で~ (Bel air ~Within Moments of Nothingness~

I’ve been listening to MALICE MIZER for many years now, and its debatable weather they qualify as ‘real’ goth. I for one believe they do, especially in their earlier days.  Bel Air is a rather fast paced song, while at the same time being soft sounding. The guitar riffs stands out a lot, even though the song also uses many other effects including sounds from a music box. The vocals are impressive as well. Bel Air is found on the album Merveilles. While my favourite album by MALICE MIZER is Bara no Seidou, Merveilles is better suited for this list.

London After Midnight – Where Good Girls Go To Die

Another one of the top bands from the goth scene. Where Good Girls Go To Die has a darker sound than the other songs on this list. It also uses synthesizer more frequently. What I like about this song is that it is indeed heavy and mysterious, and that the vocals used are both clean and scream/growl. Very interesting band overall.

 

Hope you enjoyed this post. Now go and listen!

~K

Leave a Reply

